Joji Hattori is one of the leading Japanese musicians of his generation and has enjoyed a very varied career as a musician, firstly as a concert violinist, an activity which has developed into directing chamber orchestras, conducting symphony orchestras and finally operas.

He is currently the Principal Guest Conductor of the Vienna Chamber Orchestra, which he has been conducting regularly since 2004, at the Vienna Konzerthaus as well as on numerous tours within Europe, to Asia and South America.

Since 2009 Joji Hattori is also the Music Director of the Open-Air Summer Festival in Schloss Kittsee. As violinist he performs every year at the Lauenen Chamber Concerts (Switzerland) of which he is the Artistic Director.

From 2007 to 2008 Joji Hattori served as Principal Resident Conductor of the Opera House in Erfurt and from 2014 to 2018 he was Principal Guest Conductor and Co-Artistic Director of the Balearic Symphony Orchestra in Palma de Mallorca. 

As guest conductor he has worked repeatedly with many distinguished orchestras such as the Philharmonia Orchestra London, Slovakian Philharmonic, Wiener Symphoniker, the Düsseldorfer Symphoniker or many major symphony orchestras in Japan. In 2009 he made his debut at the Vienna State Opera with three performances of The Magic Flute, conducting in fact the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra in the pit. He has also conducted at the New National Theatre Tokyo which is Japan’s leading opera house.

He was born in Japan and spent his childhood in Vienna where regularly attending the opera house and concert halls formed his musical development. Influenced by both cultures, Hattori is today one of the very few musicians of Asian heritage who is respected internationally for his interpretation of the Viennese Classics. He started playing the violin at the age of five and studied with Rainer Küchl at the Vienna Academy of Music, followed by further studies with Yehudi Menuhin and Vladimir Spivakov. In 1989 he won the International Yehudi Menuhin Violin Competition in England. After a decade of international activities as a violin soloist, he participated at the inaugural Lorin Maazel Conducting Competition in New York in 2002, where he was given a major award and the opportunity to study conducting techniques with the late Lorin Maazel for the following 2 years. 

Apart from his performing activities, Joji Hattori is President and Member of the Jury of the International Yehudi Menuhin Violin Competition and in 2003 he was made Honorary Member of the Royal Academy of Music, London. Having studied social anthropology at Oxford University (St. Antony College), he also continues to research the questions around the national identity of human beings. Since 2015 he is the owner of Shiki, a Japanese Fine Dining restaurant in Vienna.

Biography in Japanese

Joji Hattori erfreut sich einer breitgefächerten Karriere als Musiker, erst als Konzertgeiger und Kammermusiker, eine Tätigkeit, die sich in die Leitung von Kammerorchestern und später in das Dirigieren von symphonischen Orchestern und Opern entwickelte. 

Er ist derzeit Erster Gastdirigent des Wiener Kammerorchesters, das er seit 2004 regelmäßig im Wiener Konzerthaus und auf zahlreichen Tourneen (in Europa, nach Asien und Südamerika) dirigiert.

Seit 2009 ist Hattori auch Chefdirigent und Musikalischer Leiter des Open-Air Sommerfestivals in Kittsee. Als Geiger arbeitet er jedes Jahr als Künstlerischer Leiter der Lauenen Chamber Concerts in der Schweiz.

2014 bis 2008 war er als Erster Gastdirigent und Ko-Intendanten des Balearischen Symphonieorchesters (Palma de Mallorca) tätig. Von 2007 bis 2008 war er Erster Kapellmeister am Theater Erfurt. 

Als Gastdirigent leitete Joji Hattori zahlreiche bedeutende Orchester, darunter das Philharmonia Orchestra London, die Wiener Symphoniker, die Slowakische Philharmonie, das Düsseldorfer Symphonieorchester oder viele führende Symphonieorchester in Japan. Im Juni 2009 debütierte Hattori an der Wiener Staatsoper mit drei Aufführungen der Zauberflöte. Wiederholt dirigierte er auch am New National Theatre Tokyo, dem ersten Opernhaus Japans. 

Joji Hattori wurde in Japan geboren, verbrachte aber seine Kindheit in Wien, wo regelmäßige Opern- und Konzertbesuche sowie unzählige Hausmusikabende mit führenden Wiener Musikern seine musikalische Entwicklung prägten. Hattori gilt heute als einer der wenigen Musiker asiatischer Herkunft, der international als Interpret der Wiener Klassik anerkannt ist. Seinen ersten Geigenunterricht erhielt Hattori im Alter von fünf Jahren. Er studierte an der Wiener Musikhochschule unter Rainer Küchl, später setzte er seine Studien bei Yehudi Menuhin und Vladimir Spivakov fort. 1989 gewann er den Internationalen Yehudi Menuhin Violin-Wettbewerb in England. Nach einem Jahrzehnt solistischer Tätigkeit nahm er 2002 am ersten Lorin Maazel Dirigenten-Wettbewerb in New York teil, bei dem er einen der Hauptpreise gewann; ein wichtiger Bestandteil dieses Preises war die Möglichkeit, über zwei Jahre intensiv mit Lorin Maazel zu studieren. 

Zusätzlich zu seiner Konzerttätigkeit ist Joji Hattori Präsident und Jury-Mitglied des Internationalen Yehudi Menuhin Violinwettbewerbs und seit 2003 Ehrenmitglied der Royal Academy of Music in London. Darüber hinaus studierte er Sozialanthropologie an der Universität Oxford (St. Antony College) und widmet sich der Forschung im Bereich der nationalen Identitäten. Seit 2015 ist er auch der Inhaber von Shiki, einem exklusiven japanischen Restaurant in Wien. 

Biographie auf Japanisch